Geeky Medics Medical Licensing Assessment (UKMLA) Content Map

All medical students in the UK will need to pass the Medical Licensing Assessment (MLA) before being able to join the medical register and work as a doctor. The MLA will consist of two parts:

  • Applied knowledge test (AKT): a 200-question online multiple choice exam using single best answer (SBA) questions

  • Clinical and professional skills assessment (CPSA): a practical examination (e.g. OSCE) run by medical schools

Learn more about the Medical Licensing Assessment 🩺

We've put together a handy guide explaining the MLA

MLA Guides

Check out our lists of conditions, presentations and practical skills that you'll expected to know for the MLA.

Conditions and Presentations Mapped to Areas of Clinical Practice

To help you prepare for the UK Medical Licensing Assessment (UKMLA), we've organised our content by area of clinical practice.

Acute and Emergency



Child Health

Clinical Haematology

Clinical Imaging

X-ray interpretation post pic


Ear, Nose and Throat

Nasal exam post pic

Endocrine & Metabolic

Thyroid exam post pic


General Practice


Sepsis post pic

Medicine of Older Adult

Mental Health



Obstetrics & Gynaecology



Palliative and End of Life Care

Perioperative Medicine & Anaesthesia

Renal & Urology


Sexual Health


How to Prepare for the UKMLA

We've produced a short video which explains the structure of the medical licensing assessment and how to prepare for the UKMLA using the content map.